What have you done for your body lately?

iphone0209-002

If you are like me, I have been neglecting my body most of the winter, and actually more like abusing it. Maybe it is the season that causes me to want to eat all those homey foods and scarf up all the desserts at parties and have those warming Jameson sips.

I decided it was time to give back to this vessel that has been carrying around my soul through this wet and cold time. So I took a week off from: alcohol, dairy, gluten, sugar, processed foods, and caffeine.

I used Ann Louise Gittleman’s book “The Fast Track Detox Diet” which made it easy to organize meals. I was able to eat veggies, fruits, organic meats, eggs, and nuts. It was important to keep a well stocked frig of organic ingredients so as not to add back in pesticides, antibiotics, etc.

It was also helpful to have a partner for support during the seven day diet and Ander was more than willing to jump on the bandwagon. After the strengthening of our livers by eating nurturing foods, we were ready for the 1 day fast. This consisted of drinking alternately, water and a cranberry drink mix every hour on the hour. We kept our day open to deal with the all day event, but ended up going to “Watchmen” for part of it.

Now we are in the home stretch – three more days of the diet with the addition of yogurt with probiotics.

The whole diet and fast was not too hard actually. I did have one full day of headaches which I believe was due to caffeine withdrawal.

I think there is something to be said for setting a goal and challenge and successfully completing it. It does wonders for the self esteem. It feels nice to take off that big, heavy coat of Winter and be able to bound into Spring a little lighter and clearer.

This entry was posted in cleaning, cooking, detox, diet, energy, food, health, life, transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

