Wild oysters in Costa Rica

20130314-115258.jpg
As you may know about me, I love oysters! Not only do I like to eat them, but I use their shells extensively in my art work. They are a symbol of my father’s family and the time they farmed oysters in Washington.

So you can imagine my delight when one of our fellow snorkelers on the Zuma boat tour announced he was going to hunt for oysters! A local Tico in the Montezuma, Costa Rica area, he knew what to look for and could hold his breath a long time underwater.

He came up with enough oysters for all 16 of us and the crew. They were delicious! Off course I kept a couple of the beautiful shells to take home. they were large and had a luster unlike any other oyster shells I’ve ever seen before.

This entry was posted in celebration, cool, costa rica, food, fun, life, local eating, nature, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

