Sitting Between Heaven and Earth

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It started as a chair for my mother who is no longer on earth. I thought she would have liked this view on a hill overlooking the ocean. I wished she were still here to talk to. I have new questions for her, ones I wasn’t pondering before. I have new understandings I didn’t have before. I always wanted us to be peers, to be able to speak woman to woman. Now it can only happen between worlds.

May this seat hold me between heaven and earth as I face new challenges. May the earth and sky be my allies. May I have conversations with my mother as I look out to the infinite sea.

This entry was posted in ancestors, art, art of Judy Shintani, consciousness, creativity, daughter, elders, found objects, mothers, nature, relationships, self, transformation, Uncategorized, woman and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

