happy mother’s day mom

young-momo.jpgThis is a picture of my mom before she became a mom, probably in her early twenties. I want to honor her not only as my mother, but as a woman, as herself.

This photo was taken perhaps in her backyard in Wakiki. I think she loved Hawaii, the weather, her friends, the beauty of it all. She used to tell me stories of walking barefoot through avocado orchards and pulling the fruit off the trees on the way to school. She became a teacher even though her parents wanted her to become a secretary.

She was an adventurer. When she was 27, she left the islands for the first time to explore the mainland and never went back to Hawaii till three years later to introduce her wonderful husband and one year old daughter, me.

Thanks for being my mom and being you!

Leave a Reply

