disconnected and yet totally connected in a new way

It is so strange – one day you are in the groove, in the stream, and then the next day you are not. Our DSL at the art studio has been down for a couple of weeks now. I have been reading my emails via my phone and going to the library. It is not the same as being in the comfort of one’s own chair at one’s own desk.

I have to say that I am very thankful for internet access at our library. Libraries are definitely cool places. I see a whole new microcosm there. There are those without their own computers borrowing online services. Kids are doing crafts and sing alongs. Travelers are catching up on the news. Seniors are reading the newspaper. Students are working on their papers. Families are picking out kids’ books and CDs. We are so fortunate to have a free place to access online and printed information.

Our library definitely needs more funding. It could be bigger so each age group could thrive in it’s own area without sound carrying into the quiet areas. More space for books too. I think if I had some extra dough I would contribute it to our local library.

Leave a Reply

