“There is a garden in every childhood…”

“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.”
– Elizabeth Lawrence

scooter.jpg

I shot this photo at Rudy and Sue’s house. I loved how the bright blue vibrated with the green vegetation and the orange berries. I imagined a little one quickly jumping off their scooter to run into the house for dinner.

The quote reminds me of squatting down to look at ants and snails and caterpillars in our garden when I was around 3 years old. I remember bringing all the snails in the house and lining them up on the coffee table. I would plop them into my mouth and chew up the crunchy shells with the gooey insides and then spit them out in in a nice row again on the table. I liked the feel of the different textures in my mouth. For some reason this did not disturb my mother. She thought it was funny! Hmmm…garden sashimi?

One thought on ““There is a garden in every childhood…”

  1. I love this…. Ok – but it does gross me out a bit the memory of chewing on the different “textures”. I didn’t and could not have done that. Very bold and explorative of you! Hmmm… I love the poem though. I love being in the garden – any garden – outside. I love the connection to everything while there… To now… to my past… to the past… to possibility… Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

