“A childlike man is not a man…

“A childlike man is not a man whose development has been arrested; on
the contrary, he is a man who has given himself a chance of
continuing to develop long after most adults have muffled themselves
in the cocoon of middle aged habit and convention.”– Aldous Huxley

I had a reaction to this quote when I first read it. I wondered if it was because of the gender reference? A “childlike man” did not appeal to me. Why? Is it because then I would feel I would have to take on the adult role with this person? Perhaps that is just me feeling as some has to be the adult! But maybe that is not the case at all…

What if the quote read a “childlike woman”? Still it rubs me the wrong way…I do not really want to be childlike – at least not all the time. Oh, so the word which is bothering me is “childlike”! Yes that is it.

I embrace the person who continues to grow and develop AND is also an adult who is responsible and conscious. An adult does not have to be conservative and muffled. Let me be a HUMAN BEING who can mostly stand on my own two feet, add value to my community, embrace the wonder and the mystery, and continually evolve into my best self.

Leave a Reply

