New toolbox

toolbox

Found sea shells from my local beach in HMB, have become my latest material in my artwork. I love the smoothness of the random shapes that have been formed by tumbling in the waves. As I collect them I have been placing these treasures in an old Japanese box. The matte shades of white look lovely against the shiny old black lacquer.

Jane, the curator at the Alta Bates Hospital gallery, invited me into the ocean-themed show which opens May 10 in Berkeley. I’m coming up with some cool pieces that will go into plexiglass cases in the lobby gallery. I’ll show you some new work soon!

Leave a Reply

