Invitation to write a story about your mother

Since Mother’s Day is coming up, maybe you are thinking about your mom like I am.

I’d like to invite you to write a story, an experience about your mother. It could be a story you heard or an interaction you had with her. Anything really that you would like to share. You could add it to the comments and then it will be shared with who ever reads this blog and anyone you want to send the link to.

I’ll start off with a story about my mom…

momI really have my mom to thank for me being an artist and an art teacher. When I was around 3 or 4 years old, she was trying to find some kind of activity that I would like to do. First she tried swimming. I think she really wanted me to learn how to swim because she wasn’t so hot at it, even though she grew up in Hawaii. Well, I did not do too well at that. (Though I did learn eventually, but that is another story). Then she took me to ballet lessons. I was not too graceful, kinda an ugly duckling type, so that did not last too long. Well, what next? How about art? She took me to a wonderful art teacher named Donna. Donna was very kind and patient. I mostly remember drawing cats and dogs. After that I was constantly drawing. The refrigerator was covered with my art. All my aunts got letters stuffed with my drawings. As I grew older, my mom the teacher, would have me work on her bulletin boards in her class room. I learned to work large. The subject matter was anything from season themed to lessons on geography or science, what ever she was focusing on with her students. I’m glad she kept at it at an early age, to find the right fit for my interest and talent.

One thought on “Invitation to write a story about your mother

  1. Judy: What a beautiful picture of your mom and a wonderful story about her. Tomorrow(Sat), I will be doing something for Mother’s Day with Dasha and Chantelle and I will compose a story and take a picture of my mom.
    During the workshop in Sedona, an image came to me of my my mom which was from when I was caregiving her and she wasn’t speaking anymore, and it brought deep yearning and sadness and I sense it was about her inner child and mine as well. I have been working with that energy by going into it and just being with it in small amounts. I really miss her, and i think it is the gate to my getting into my heart like Drunvalo is trying to teach us. Thank you for your blob Shirl

Leave a Reply

