Little footprint art

I often see kid hand print art, so I thought, why not footprints? I traced around each preschool child’s shoe and they decorated them. Some wanted the print to look like their shoe tread, others the top of their shoe. Some did their favorite colors. I drew along with the kids and some liked my multicolored design and added it in their footprints.

Kids’ learnings: their body, tracing, shapes, color choices, transferring from 3D to 2D.

buddha-footprint

Looking at the artwork later, it reminded me of images of Buddha’s footprints I had seen. Doing some research on this, I found out that long ago, when overt representations of the Buddha image were taboo, the main artistic way for symbolizing the Buddha’s presence was to show the Buddha’s “footprint.” I like how in my art lesson, each child’s presence is depicted in their footprint art.

Read more about the Buddha footprint art by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

