American/Asian: A Tale of New Cultures

As many of you know I am currently showing my work up in Seattle at the wonderful ArtXchange Gallery. Ander and I drove my 3 assemblage pieces from Half Moon Bay, California to the gallery. It rained a bit on the ride up and the truck bed cab was not completely water tight. Luckily I had double wrapped everything and used big tupperware like bins, and everything arrived safe and sound. The drive up was like a pilgrimage back to where my father grew up and where we used to vacation during childhood summers.

I found the ArtXchange Gallery to be very professional and beautifully laid out. The staff were incrediably delightful and helpful. It is a contemporary international art gallery that “aims to inspire cultural exploration, the expansion of global community and the exchange of ideas through art, film and photography. They exhibit contemporary art from around the world that reflects the diversity of influences shaping today’s global culture.”

I appreciated the breath of the work in the show – ceramics, painting, assemblage, video, fabric, collage, photography. The show is also culturally diverse with artists from Japanese, Chinese, East Indian, Vietnamese, Filipino influences. You can view and download the show catalog and hard copies are also available from blurb, by clicking here.

I enjoyed meeting the other artists in this group show and I look forward to spending more time with them. I really connected with Malpina Chan, a wonderful artist who uses family images, collaging and transfer techniques. It turned out she was born in Lodi, California – the same town I grew up in! William Song and I spoke about his painting and the influence of the New Mexico pueblo dwellings. That high desert has always been a haven for me. I was intrigued by the use of rice sacks and encaustic in Deborah Kapoor‘s work. Jonathan Wakuda Fischer uses spray paint and stencils he creates in photoshop to create his paintings and he winked when I asked if he does any renegade street art. June Sekiguchi creates wonderful structures of delicate cut wood with beautiful iridescent colors. I resonated with her love of the book “How to Wrap Five Eggs” by Hideyuki Oka. I spoke with Arun Sharma about the exquisite film he made called “100 Flowers”. He used his wife’s face as the screen for projection. Joseph Songco photographs caught the vendors at the Pike Fish Market and he told me stories of the people he met there. Hopefully i will be able to meet the other artists in my next trip.

American/Asian: A Tale of New Cultures is up until June 27th. I will be returning to Seattle participate in a closing event. Please come by if you’re in the area!

Here are some images from the reception:

2 thoughts on “American/Asian: A Tale of New Cultures

  1. Hey Judy,
    I am still up in Seattle…and I totally forgot that you were showing up here…I remember seeing your name on the Gallery postcard, feeling excited about it, and then promptly forgetting about it. Let me know when you will return so we can say hello!

    Leah
    leah@leahlibow.net

Leave a Reply

