Spinning Joy!

“Spin Joy” conjures up memories of bicycling, wheel of fortune, playful pinwheels. It offers the viewer a chance at fun, a moment to smile, a little escape.

This newest piece of mine in totally made of recycled materials. The colored disks are plastic lids for drinks! I painted them with acrylic and they glow when the sun shines through them. I got a case of lids from a place for free because they are defective. I’ve been using them a lot for kids art. We’ve made sun catchers and used them for scales on a giant fish. I’ve also been putting them in the windows at my studio and they are like stained glass.

I hope to make a bunch of them for a public art space.

Leave a Reply

