Cutting away

I’ve become a cutting fiend over the last few weeks. Using small scissors, I’m removing the flowers printed on an old silk kimono. It is a strange and satisfying feeling. So many emotions and thoughts float through my brain as I continue with my obsession.

This all started as a piece about the loss of my ancestors and my disconnection with my culture. Now it has become much more and the messages keep unfolding.

Sometimes I feel like the crane woman who plucked her feathers in the night to weave them into wondrous fabric, but instead of making something, I am taking it apart.

Other times I can’t help but think about the Yoko Ono performance. She presented herself to an audience to cut away pieces of her garment as she wore it.

My goal is to have four deconstructed kimonos completed for a show at Enso Gallery in Half Moon Bay in August…I’ve got a lot of work to do!

If you would like to find out about the first deconstructed kimono click here.

3 thoughts on “Cutting away

  1. Dear Judy, What an interesting ritual. I envision the flowers landing elsewhere, a secret you may or my not unveil at the opening of the show? Say, I tried the link to see the first deconstructed kimono and got something about me not having authority to edit. Nothing else.

  2. I thought about Yoko Ono as well the moment I read about your process of cutting. I think the idea of “taking something away” through this type of “mutilation” (cutting) is very powerful, as is this piece of yours.

    Excellent work!!!

Leave a Reply

