Oakland Museum of California Apologizes

Thank you to Oakland Museum of California CEO Lori Fogarty for addressing my concerns about the recent interaction with the docent at the Dorothea Lange exhibition. I attended this tour with the Northern California Women’s Caucus for Art who with me witnessed and experienced the unprofessional and insulting docent. Below find the comment Ms. Fogarty posted on my blog
Lori also responded to my personal email to her. She has some ideas we may explore together. I feel confident that the museum will be working to make sure this kind of experience will not happen again.  ~ Judy Shintani

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 8.15.58 PM

One thought on “Oakland Museum of California Apologizes

  1. It is of the utmost importance that the mistakes of the past stay in the past. The point of Dorothea Lang’s work was to show the injustice. The docent obviously miss the point of the exhibit. Especially in our great bay area we are diverse and I expect to live in a diverse society now and in the future. We as Californians now more than ever must show our strength as diverse human beings. I am proud that Ms. Shintani spoke up. A museum is a perfect place to show our commitment to a better future for all human beings.
    Sincerely,
    Terry Ow-Wing

Leave a comment